Discussion

Let’s Talk About Books Baby

Let’s discuss books. Now, I know this is a blog about books but this time I’m not talking about what’s inside the books. Actual physical books. I would say ‘and e-books’ but I don’t read them. No particular reason, but I’ve only read one or two in my life. Although, I have an iPad now, so that may change. Either way, this post is about the actual books.

Raise your hand if you buy more books then you should. Everyone? Okay.
I buy my books from lots of different places. When I buy online, I usually buy from Book Depository because they have free shipping and they have not disappointed me yet. I want to buy from other sites, and I look at other sites, but when it comes down to cost free shipping wins. Especially since to justify shipping whenever I buy anything else on line, I buy more. Then it feels like you’re paying less for shipping… it’s a terrible spiral.

Living in a small town means I don’t have that many book shop options. We have a store that has all the books for $7, I think it’s because the books are deemed damaged… they almost always have a mark on the bottom – but who cares? I’ve found some excellent books there and cheaper than anywhere else. Then there is your department stores (Target, Big W) which usually only stock popular books and new releases so it can be hard to get a good selection.

One of my favourite ways to buy books is second hand. I love shopping at charity stores and book fairs for second hand books. They’re cheap, usually in great condition and I like to think of it as giving a book a new home. It’s been enjoyed by people before, and will be enjoyed by me. I also like donating books I don’t want to keep, adding them to the cycle and bringing good books back to me.

As for my actual bookshelves, I’ve organised them a few different ways in the past. I discussed my bookshelf organisation previously, so go check out that post!

Now how about some statistics? At the time of posting, my bookshelves contain:img_0049

2 Bookshelves

192 Books

168 Paperback

24 Hardback

110 Read

82 To Be Read

Will never read: 2

  • Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone – Spanish Translation (I cannot speak or read Spanish.)
  • Barry Trotter (funny Harry Potter parody, don’t care to read it)
  • As for the rest, I like to think I’ll read them one day

Multiple copies: 10 books across 22 editions

  • 2 x Going Solo by Roald Dahl (children’s edition, adult edition)
  • 4 x Harry Potter and the Philosophers Stone (paperback, illustrated, Spanish translation, 20th anniversary house hardback)
  • 2 x Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (paperback, illustrated)
  • 2 x Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (paperback, hardback)
  • 2 x Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2 paperback copies)
  • 2 x Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (paperback, hardback)
  • 2 x Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince (paperback, hardback)
  • 2 x Harry Potter and the Dealthy Hallows (paperback, hardback)
  • 2 x Anne of the Island by L.M. Montgomery (paperback, hardback)
  • 2 x Chronicles of Avonlea by L.M. Montgomery (paperback, hardback)

Well there we go, how do your bookshelves break down?

5 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Books Baby

  1. I love your multiple copies of Harry Potter haha! I keep mine around and have all the e-books AND audio versions. Highly recommend those actually, the reader is hands down my favorite of all time!

    Like

  2. I’m just like you. I never read e-books, and I buy so many books and I can’t stop buying them. I don’t have much time to read these days, but I can’t stop buying!! And I have SO many different copies of Harry Potter. OH and I love your infographic! You’ve inspired me to take a look at my own library collection!

    Like

  3. Wow. That must have taken a while for you to go through your bookshelves? Unless if your Goodreads is actually up to date… I try so hard, but there are heaps of books on there that I’m sure I don’t have anymore! I have a big problem with buying books, of course. And yes, I use Big W and Book Depo a lot, but I’ve been using Booko to get the best deals for books that I want and find that lots of Aussie online stores have actually been stepping up to the plate and offering good prices. 🙂 Great post!

    Cass @ Words on Paper

    Like

Comments are closed.