Lists

Favourite Childhood Books

Between rereading the Harry Potter series and watching the Anne of Green Gables movies, I’ve been thinking about all my favourite books from when I was younger. So here’s my top 10 favourite childhood books!

  1. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

First, to get it out of the way! Of course this series was one of my favourite books. It’s still in my favourite books list. And it always will be.

  1. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery

Red haired, imaginative, Anne with an ‘E’. I always loved this book and have been reading the other books in the series as I get older. I recently reviewed the movie adaptation.

  1. Milly Molly Mandy by Joyce Lankester Brisley

My mother and aunts used to read me different Milly Molly Mandy stories and when I was five I dressed up as her in that pink and white striped dress for book day.

  1. The Children Of Cherry Tree Farm by Enid Blyton

I loved every Enid Blyton book I read when I was younger, but I managed to pick two for this list. The Children of Cherry Tree Farm is one of Blyton’s stories with adventures on the farm, in the woods. A very close second to this is the Faraway Tree series.

  1. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Every single time I saw a pretty old key, I just knew it would let me into a pretty garden. It’s such a beautiful story. You know what, I need to reread this book very soon.

  1. Matilda by Roald Dahl

Roald Dahl. So amazing. I picked two for this list, firstly Matilda. A girl who reads all the time and is so smart that she has magic powers? My hero.

  1. Adventures of the Wishing Chair by Enid Blyton

Onto the second Enid Blyton selection. Adventures of the Wishing Chair is another perfect representation of the lovely stories Blyton told. Young children going on magical adventures.

  1. Charlotte’s Web by E.B White

A classic, I read this a few times when I was younger and also really loved the animated movie. I mean who didn’t? It’s Charlotte, Wilbur and Fern!

  1. Jinx by Meg Cabot

I read this book a fair few times in the pre/early teen years. A romantic contemporary story about a teenager moving to New York but with witches. I mean it’s awesome, I always loved the old school witchery, with the family history plus the drama of New York.

  1. Danny the Champion of the World by Roald Dahl

I really loved this book! I always thought it was so clever, interesting and funny. Roald Dahl is just brilliant.

What were your favourite books as a kid? Any on this list?

3 thoughts on “Favourite Childhood Books

  1. Oh my gosh so many of my favourites are the same. I adored Matilda (obvs) and The Witches by Dahl and just LOVED the Faraway Tree and Wishing Chair series. I used to read them over and over again. I also loved Molly Moon’s Incredible Book of Hypnotism – still a favourite to this day I think! Great list gal! xo

    Like

Comments are closed.