Discussion

Anne of Green Gables: An Adaptation 

Believe it or not, I had never watched the 1985 TV movie/miniseries ‘Anne of Green Gables’ until recently. I know, I know. I’ve owned the DVD’s of ‘Anne of Green Gables’ and ‘Anne of Avonlea’ for years but somehow never watched them.  Since Netflix released the new adaptation ‘Anne with an E’ I wanted to finally watch the 1985 TV movie before watching the new one.

21812637.gif

I have no idea how I didn’t watch it before now. Boy, was I missing out. Everything about it is perfect. The casting, the scenery, the costumes… everything. The White Way and The Lake of Shining Waters are more beautiful then I pictured.

We first see Anne walking while reading and I felt warm and fuzzy inside immediately. Megan Follows is amazing, speaking Anne’s beautiful sentences and her insane use of adjectives. If possible, the language is even more beautiful than in the book.

Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert are exactly how I always imagined them. Marilla is the perfect combination of kind and strict. Before we even see Matthew’s face, he is already so lovely and kind. His kind gestures, such as buying Anne her fancy dress, are just so sweet.

7579156 tumblr_m9a3n3ipwo1ro29z4o1_r1_400

giphy (2)Anne and Diana were my first real example of best-friendship. Is there any other two girls who are friends like Anne and Diana? They make it through their ups and downs like true friends do. Schuyler Grant is simply wonderful, capturing Diana’s enthusiasm and sweetness.

Then there is Gilbert. Ah, Gilbert Blythe. He stole my heart long ago, and I’d be lying if I said my heart didn’t flutter every time he winked. He teased Anne because he wanted to meet her, rescued her when the Barry’s boat went down, then he asked her to the ball. Pretty much every time his face was shown on screen, I released Gilbert will always have my heart.

tumblr_mwoyanZ1R11ry77wyo1_r1_250 anigif_enhanced-23531-1429507552-6

So, I have realized how fantastic this adaptation is, I know I will watch and rewatch for a while yet. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ll go watch it again.

049c34a851a9afd82ba6e2024d48ed37

3 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables: An Adaptation 

  1. I’ve never read or seen Anne of Green Gables, but you’ve certainly talked me into it! It sounds beautiful! Now all that’s left to decide is which one is first – the book or the movie. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

