Review

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

In Amy Poehler’s highly anticipated first book, Yes Please, she offers up a big juicy stew of personal stories, funny bits on sex and love and friendship and parenthood and real life advice (some useful, some not so much), like when to be funny and when to be serious. Powered by Amy’s charming and hilarious, biting yet wise voice, Yes Please is a book full of words to live by.

Amy Poehler is an American actress, comedian, director, writer and author. Whether you know her from Saturday Night Live or Parks and Recreation, you know she is hilarious. mamma17Personally, I think I first thought Poehler was hilarious when she told us that she’s,
‘a cool mom’. I am always laughing watching her, I can’t believe I’ve never seen a single episode of Parks and Recreation. I always knew I’d like it, but now I just want to watch it even more!

I’d wanted to read Yes Please for a while. This year one of my reading goals was to read more memoirs/biographies. This is the second one so far, so I’m doing pretty well. Before starting this book, I didn’t know a lot about Poehler’s early career. Learning about her admiring, joining and creating various improvisation groups really highlighted just how much she loves her work.

take-me-so-long-amy-poehlerWhen reading about her time at Saturday Night Live, I kept thinking three things. Amy Poehler deserved to be there, but she also worked incredibly hard and had so much fun. A perfect example of her work ethic would be how she was rehearsing the night before, and planned to perform the day she gave birth to her first son. Working all the way through your pregnancy must be so tough, but I’m sure Poehler was laughing most of the time.

Yes Please isn’t just full of Poehler’s stories and memories, but also her wise advice. The advice is so important, the book just stops and phrases are written over two pages. It sure makes you pay attention. ‘Nobody looks stupid when they are having fun’ and ‘Strangers should be a little strange. I don’t know you, fool’ where two of my favorites. Poehler also had some wonderful thoughts on technology and friendship which I found both ridiculous and educational.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. You’ll be giggling to yourself on every page, but hopefully still come away having learned something.

2 thoughts on “Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Comments are closed.