Lists

Quarterly Wrap Up – Jan, Feb, March 2017

I don’t want to talk about the two books I read every month, so I figure spreading out wrap up and haul posts would be a good idea. I like discussing what books I’m reading and buying, and I like seeing what everyone else is reading, which is why I have a book blog and bookstagram account. For bookish discussions!

Anyhow, here are the books I read in the first three months of 2017.

  1. The Marble Collector by Cecelia Ahern

Cecelia Ahern is one of my favourite authors and she wrote some of my favourite books. The Marble Collector was no different. A wonderful story about a daughter discovering her father’s secret and wondering why he had to keep it.

  1. Scrappy Little Nobody by Anna Kendrick

I’d been looking forward to reading Anna’s book since I first heard about it. I just loved it, her humor jumped right off the page. Read my full review here.

  1. Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates

I began reading this one late last year, but since it’s fairly information heavy it took a while to get through. This is a book that everyone, every woman especially, should read. Really changed the way I think about women, sexism and feminism.

  1. You Had Me At Hello by Mhairi McFarlane

Oh one of my friends has been recommending Mhairi McFarlane to me for a while, and I’m so glad she did! I really enjoyed this book, such a fun read! I’ve already bought another Mhairi McFarlane book, as you can see in the book haul below.

  1. Second Glance by Jodi Picoult

My first Jodi Picoult read! I haven’t stopped thinking about it since. The best way to describe it is a book about secrets, love and everything that haunts us. See my full review here.

  1. Yes Please by Amy Poehler

I’d been wanting to read this one for a while and man, Amy didn’t disappoint! Reading about her experiences in discovering comedy and working on so many different projects was interesting and hilarious. Look out for my review next week!

 

Now, for the book haul.

These three are second hand gems I found, each book probably cost $2-$3. Amazing, I love giving books new homes!

  • You Had Me At Hello by Mhairi McFarlane
  • The Carrie Diaries by Candace Bushnell
  • Summer and the City by Candace Bushnell

In my small town, one of the only bookshops we have is a $7 book shop. Every single book is $7 and there’s usually 10-30 copies of each book. Between stacks and stacks of books, I found the last two copies of..

  • Who’s That Girl? by Mhairi McFarlane
  • It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

 

I think over the next three months I have to keep better track of my book haul, because I’m not even sure if these are all… Or if I got one in December… Anyhow, that’s it for the first Quarterly Wrap Up of 2017!

Leave a Reply

